Patrick Kane was rewarded with the 2013 Conn Smythe trophy, which goes to the most valuable player in the playoffs, not just the finals. Kane is the 4th American-born player to ever win the award and third straight.

Goalies Tim Thomas (2011) and Jonathan Quick (2012) won it the past two seasons with defenseman Brian Leetch (1994) being the first.

Kane finished the playoffs with 19 points in 23 games. He was tied for second on the team with nine goals and trailed only Jonathan Toews and Duncan Keith in assists with 10. He was a plus 8 for the postseason and had two game winning goals.

It is widely assumed that Kane narrowly beat out goalie Corey Crawford for the honor. Several in the Chicago media, who had a vote, have come out and said they voted for Crawford. I personally believe if Crawford had only allowed one goal in Game 6 or if the Hawks held a lead at some point before the final minute, he would have won it over Kane.

Kane is only the second Hawks player in team history to win the award, joining captain Jonathan Toews. The award was not handed out till the 1965 playoffs, which was four years after the Hawks had won their last championship before 2010.

Now the only hardware that Toews has, which Kane doesn't, is an Olympic Gold Medal. I wonder if Toews will still hold those bragging rights after the 2014 Olympics?